letters to july \\ 04

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

Dear July,

Today is Independence Day, and I celebrated in true American fashion. S’mores, sparklers, watching the fireworks shoot off the bay, rewatching National Treasure for the millionth time– all with family, of course. Every year I seem to love sparklers more; the goldenness of them, the way they make one feel– a sort of invincibility comes from watching those miniature fireworks consume the substance that keeps them going.

I am desperately lucky to call this place my home. And someday, when I have the money– and boy, do I hope I have the money, I will travel each coast and as many places in between as I can. I want to see the vast expanse that this country is built upon, and the history of all that.

When I came inside from twirling in golden light and feeling the roar of firecrackers tremble my heart, the dog came bustling at me. I sat on the couch and let him snuggle in beside me, trying his best to keep his cool as fireworks clapped outside. He trotted at my feet when I went to my room to put my pajamas on, and settled in on my bed, making friends with a teddy bear. I feel awfully sorry for the pup, those big bat ears being battered with the thunderous sound of the festivities. ‘This too shall pass’, a favourite phrase of my mother’s, I whispered to him.

Thanks for being such a clement month to celebrate in. You are warm, but not nearly as scorching as August or as unpredictable as June. You, July, are altogether perfect.

xoxo

Autumn

Leave a Reply

