letters to july \\ 07

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

photos from yesterday’s ‘concert on the lawn’.

Dear July,

Sorry for the lack of correspondence yesterday. I have been striving really hard to make sure we talk daily, but yesterday– I lived so fully, so entirely, that I simply forgot to write you.

Today, though, is much duller. The weather is chill and gusty, so I’m spending the majority of my day indoors.

My birthday is coming up in a few weeks, and my mum asked me to make a list of the things I want to do and the gifts I wish to receive. In theory, this is an easy task. But when I sat down, pen and page in hand, I drew a blank. Yes, I occasionally spend time browsing my favourite shops online, oohing and ahhing over some really lovely things, but when it comes down to it, I don’t really want any of them. Is it just me, July, or does it become more and more difficult to make such lists the older one gets? I eventually penned a few things that are both beautiful and useful, and some ventures I wish to go on. Please don’t misunderstand me, I am practically brimming with excitement. I love the idea of a day designated to celebrating a beloved someone. But I am continually prone to feel guilty over feeling that I am being selfish, thinking of stuff I want others to give me and how I want my day to go. I know that this is false guilt, and that helps to relieve me.

I am awfully grateful to have my birthday in such a marvelous month. The middle of summer; not too soon like your sister June, or late in the season like your brother August. Thanks for being you.

xoxo

Autumn Gracie

Leave a Reply

