a love letter to lavender oil (and diy’s!)

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

Oh, lavender oil-

You are miracle worker; the relief of muscle sorness, headaches, sleeplessness, and stress/anxiousness.

You’ve turned me into a hippie. I’m makin’ my own deodorant and all-purpose spray, with shampoo and body lotion next on my “diy” list.

I hold precious the practice of dabbing a bit of you behind my ears, or on my wrists, or onto my temples on nights I cannot sleep; of spraying my clothes and bedding with diy lavender linen spray, gracing them with the slightest note of your particularly soft, floral scent; of rubbing some homemade deodorant perfumed with you in my pits in the mornin’. You have become part of my daily routine, and I am pleased as punch.

I hope to go to my local co-op this week and expand my essential oil collection, but don’t be envious. You were my first, and will always be my favourite.

xoxo

*DIY LAVENDER LINEN SPRAY*

Goods needed:

spray bottle

enough water to fill the bottle at least half way

five or so drops of lavender essential oil

Preparation:

Pour the water in the spray bottle and five drops of oil.  Put the cap on and shake the bottle a little. Give the air in front of you a spritz and give that air a good sniff. Add a drop or two more of essential oil if it suits your fancy.

To use:

Spray on clothes, pajamas, bedding, pillows, your body– most anything, really.

*Homemade Lavender Deodorant*

Goods needed:

1/4 cup baking soda

1/4 cup cornstarch or arrowroot powder

5 tbsp. coconut oil

lavender essential oil

medium-sized bowl

hearty fork (a.k.a. a good metal fork)

container to store deodorant in (mason jar, clean recycled glass jar)

Preparation:

Place baking soda, constarch/arrowroot powder, coconut oil, and 7-10 drops of lavender oil (depending on how strong you want the lavender scent to be). Mash it all together with that hearty fork you’ve got. It’ll take some upper arm strength, and a bit of patience, but after ten minutes or so, the texture of your concoction will be similar to that of store-bought deodorant, maybe a little softer. Pour it in your jar, and there ya have it! 

To use:

Scoop up a fingertip’s worth and rub into your armpit. Repeat for other pit. You probably wanna wash your hands before you do much else. The coconut oil makes it melt right into your skin, and keeps the risk of getting white streaks on your dark tops to a minimum- yaaaaay!

2 thoughts on “a love letter to lavender oil (and diy’s!)

Leave a Reply

